Monday, May 4, 2009

Transition testing (again)

Under Senate Bill 1, Kentucky is now designing new standards and new testing to begin in 2012. For 2009, 2010, and 2011, a transition approach will be used:
  • In reading and mathematics, students will take our current criterion-referenced tests, better known as Kentucky Core Content Tests, and schools will be accountable for reaching NCLB proficiency goals.
  • In science and social studies, students will take our current criterion-referenced tests.
  • In writing, students will take the on-demand and multiple choice portions of our current criterion-referenced tests.
  • Students will take the Explore, Plan, and ACT readiness tests.
  • For 2010 and 2011, students will take a new norm-referenced reading and mathematics test in grades 3 through 7.
  • Each fall, the Department of Education will release a Kentucky Performance Report for each school and district, showing the percent of students reaching each performance level in each tested subject.
For a one-page PDF with charts of the grades that will take each test, click here. For the complete bill, click here, and on that page, click the link that says "SB 1." In the bill, search for "Section 19" to see the interim testing rules. (This post draws heavily on earlier analysis shared here in March.)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Updates and data on Kentucky education!